Dover stalemate

BY RORY DALEY Observer writer

Friday, April 21, 2017    

Print this page Email A Friend!

IT was one victory a piece for top Thundersport drivers Kyle Gregg, David Summerbell Jr, and Doug “Hollywood” Gore at the Jamaica Race Drivers Club (JRDC) Total Lubricants’ Carnival of Speed held at Dover Raceway, St Ann, on Easter Monday .

Gregg, however, could claim the better day as he walked away leading the Thundersport class and having set the new lap record, lowering it to one minute 16.127 seconds (from the one minute 17.019 seconds previously held by Gore), and having finished all three races.

“It was good to be shattering the lap record by that big of a margin, but I was completely on the limit. I don’t think I could go faster,” Gregg told Auto.

Gregg’s qualifying pace set hopes high ahead of the first Thundersport (TS2) class two race for the day. The drama was further heightened when only two of the protagonists, Gregg and Summerbell Jr, took to the start line. Gore had been sidelined by a mechanical problem as his rivals battled away. Gregg looked to have the win in hand when a mistake saw him run off the road, but able to recover.

“Just a dumb mistake. I took the dirty line into the corner and spun,” he explained.

The second TS2 then threw the fans into fever pitch as Gore was able to join in. This time it was Summerbell Jr’s time to succumb to mechanical issues, his Evolution dropping the race lead to Gore. His car was done for the day. For race three, he borrowed the car of Roan Jones to salvage some points on the day. By then the damage was done as Gregg claimed his first TS2 win of the 2017 season.

Behind the tussle of the three titans, Demar Lee and Leroy Spence shared a Bracket 45N win each, as Patrick Patterson dominated Bracket 45T. Robert McDonald fought with Kyle Reynolds for the top spot in the three Motorcycle class A races. McDonald took two to Reynolds’ one. Damier Lee had a clean sweep in Motorcycle class B. Nicolas Barnes won two of three Modified Production (MP) class 1 races ahead of karter Collin Daley Jr single win. For MP2, William Myers, Peter Jaggon and Fraser McConnell all shared a single win each. MP3 went Nigel Edwards and Kristian Boodoosingh won MP4. Boodoosingh also won two Improved Production races. Bracket 29 went to Sebastien Rae as Charles Chen swept Bracket 35. Charles Phillips won two of the Bracket 39 races while Chris John Addison won the third.





1. We welcome reader comments on the top stories of the day. Some comments may be republished on the website or in the newspaper – email addresses will not be published.

2. Please understand that comments are moderated and it is not always possible to publish all that have been submitted. We will, however, try to publish comments that are representative of all received.

3. We ask that comments are civil and free of libellous or hateful material. Also please stick to the topic under discussion.

4. Please do not write in block capitals since this makes your comment hard to read.

5. Please don't use the comments to advertise. However, our advertising department can be more than accommodating if emailed:

6. If readers wish to report offensive comments, suggest a correction or share a story then please email:

7. Lastly, read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Policy

comments powered by Disqus


Do you support the Government's move to shorten the time needed to access money held in dormant bank accounts?

View Results »


Today's Cartoon